new beginnings (2008)

Blog

I’ve been searching for a place to rest my head, perhaps I have found it. We’ll see.
ill fated sunset
This frustrates me: Of my 3 SX-70 cameras, only one works. One buzzes incessantly, the Sonar version must have a puncture in the bellows and only spits out white, wasted polas (it has taken one proper photo ever, above). The remaining, mostly functional SX-70 has a lense with a focal length of 10cm-3m and pops out of the camera at the shortest range, requiring it to be re-affixed to camera again. The shutter is only tripped by using a key, or a similar metal object to connect the two contacts. Ironically, this is the camera that looks the most broken but is the only functional one.

I’m hoping to set up a flickr sometime soon, given that I have much time on my hands and should be able to maintain it easily enough if I get all the startup done now.

There’s a lot to do before I go away after Christmas. I have a lot of design work to finalise for church that I’d only partially finished during the uni term.

Current projects I’m trying to work on, or finish, include:

  • a (new) quilt I started a long time ago
  • a pinhole camera
  • obtaining a folding medium format camera, diana, holga or similar
  • developing the last negatives from Japan (2005) and starting on the negatives from Europe (2007) – yes, I do hate my film and refuse to care for it properly. It is refrigerated, so surely that is something.
  • reading the pile of 7 books next to my bed
  • making a summer dress before summer is actually over
  • getting this blog/website up and running in a format I’m happy with!
  • planning a trip to the US with my brother, revisiting all the places we saw when we were kids and going to all the places we’ve heard about since…

Til next time,
Fi

One thought on “new beginnings (2008)

  1. I will stalk you throughout this process!
    Can I have all your pretty photos to stick on my wall in little eeny weeny frames? I think I love Polaroids but as you know am too artistically stunted to take my own =)

Leave a Reply

